J.D system for professors/academics?

I’m a university professor and, after reading all the (very neat and clear) content at the website, would like to give the J.D system a try. I generate a lot of files, notes, etc. at my job (and also personal life) and typically have serious problems finding stuff, so it looks really useful.

But before rushing to design my own system and probably failing or making many suboptimal decisions that I would need to change later (meaning overhead due to re-indexing everything, and also needing to re-remember categories) I would like to know if there are any other academics using this that could share an example of their systems for inspiration. After all, even if we teach/do research in very different fields, the structure of our jobs is not so different (this graph was made by someone roughly in my antipodes and still reflects what I do quite well: What does a Lecturer/Professor actually do? - BioTrib). So I’m sure if anyone has tried before, they could give good tips on what to do and, especially, on things that seem like good ideas and fail.

Some questions that come to my mind (and it could also be helpful to get some feedback from non-academics who know the system, if you have an answer to these…) are:

• Academic duties are typically grouped in a quite natural way into either three categories (teaching, research and service, as in the drawing above) or four (teaching, research, service and admin). The latter grouping is perhaps a better model of how we use time, but I suppose the first grouping looks better in the sense that admin will typically relate to either teaching, research or service, and having it separate could create ambiguities (is the purchase paperwork for a research computer admin or research?) but I wonder what other people think.