Work: Building a System With a Client List

Use Case: I work as a Customer Success Manager for a SaaS vendor. I oversee a portfolio of 120-140 clients, rotating annually, for whom I conduct annual account reviews, semi-annual check-ins, and ad-hoc meetings. I am also their primary escalation point for support issues.

Initially, I thought to create an area titled ‘Work’, where each company for whom I worked would occupy a category. Each responsibility occupies an ID (e.g., AC.01 Account Reviews, AC.02 Escalations, and so on).

Upon further consideration, I think my employer should occupy its own area, and each responsibility occupies a category. Each ID would be a specific instance of me performing that responsibility (e.g., AC.01 Account Review for Acme, Inc., AC.02 Account Review for Joe’s Widgets, etc.).

Questions

1. Is it better for work to be an area, or for an individual employer to be an area?
  2. How do I build a system that accommodates more than 100 clients?
  3. How do I build a system that accommodates a rotating portfolio? (i.e., I will not necessarily have the same client from year-to-year.)

Welcome!

To me your work in this role is bigger than an area, in fact it could be a whole JD system in its own right. You didn’t say, but it sounds like you were planning to have your work as one area in a wider system, perhaps one incorporating your whole life. If so, I’d suggest having a home system for your personal stuff (to include your own employment / HR data) and a separate system for your work at this company. That way if you got a new job you could simply retire the previous system and start a new one.

For your work system, I’d consider something like this:

000-009 system
010-019 internal topics
020-099 other areas you need
100-999 external clients (one client per category)

You could set each client up in the same pattern:

xxx.01 contracts
xxx.02 people
xxx.03 meetings
xxx.04 invoices
Etc.