Whats "outside" of the system?

I came across JD while I was looking for a better way to organise my files and with that I mean all my files on my computer which are spread over the regular OSX filesystem and DevonThink. I am a self employed programmer, so I have customers with multiple projects + I have some side hustles.

I think I got the overall concept of JD but have a hard time to identify the areas. Simple example:
I have a private bank account, one for my company and another one is a joint account with my girlfriend for paying rent, home maintenance, etc.

I could use the areas 10-19 Personal and 20-29 Work and have a 10 Finances / 20 Finances folder inside OR I extract that Finance folder to area level but then I would mix invoices from my company with my private ones.

So this made me wonder if I want to use the system “too broad” and areas should be “within” a folder called “personal” which is outside of the system?

I hope this makes sense.

1 Like

Have a look at this post. I have a similar life and use 10-19 Personal and 30-39 Work with basically the same categories within each area.

Works great as it’s always very clear to me what’s personal and what’s work.

2 Likes

Hi and thanks for your response. I already read this post you referring to. To be honest I read nearly every post of the forum.

And after doing this I have some more thoughts I like to share and looking for some insights.

Without the multiple projects structure, you have three levels of depth in the system:

10-19 Personal
  10 Health
     10.1 Exercises
     10.2 X-Rays
20-29 Work
   20 Clients
     20.1 Client A
     20.2 Client A

On which level does the projects is inserted? For my understanding its on the 3rd level inside 20.1 Clients A` but thats forbidden. Say we break the rule here. Would you then repeat the outside structure inside every project?

20-29 Work
   20 Clients
     20.1 Client A
       F01 Project Foo
         10-19 Finances
         20-29 Schedules