JD, projects, notes confusion

Greetings all- first post here. I have been contemplating switching to JD for a few months, have the workbook, and I am trying to design my personal system. I use the Bear app with the PARA system for note-taking, which I find somewhat insufficient as it only gives you the four top level folders, then everything else just goes to alpha by topic. Notes and files are fundamentally different and similar at once, which creates some confusion in the context of a structured system outside the app.

As I think in terms of JD it seems I want to, have an area for projects along with areas for various aspects of my life, plus the equivalent of resources which could be called knowledge perhaps. I have a few decades worth of accumulated files that are just things that interest me, not things that exist for any practical reason. And those are separate from projects (goals with steps, a desired outcome, and often a deadline). But an interest could become a project, and a project could be completed (or abandoned) and become an interest. I can’t seem to get away from the notion that an active project should have a prominent position in the structure, but I realize that it could simply be an ID under any A/C. Anyone else have this dilemma, and if so how do you reconcile it? Do you manage projects through a separate app (Things, notes app, etc.) or just incorporate them into JD as an ID?

Then once you have the JD structure set up, what do you do with the notes app- a parallel JD structure (doesn’t feel right), move notes to JD and try to quit saving stuff elsewhere, or just continue with topic based tags and sort things out periodically?

The notes apps make it difficult by storing files not in a conventional folder, so it’s a process to move things between an app and JD folders. What app on Mac is good for creating markdown files and storing wherever you want rather than its own hidden folder?