J.D Organized and Launched!

I completed the workbook and found it thorough and the whole process it encouraged very rewarding. It allowed me to organize areas of my life where I’ve been collecting stuff for years as well as several new endeavors I’m just beginning. Besides organizing, it made me think through “how” I wanted to do things. To me, that alone was very rewarding.

An earlier post I made was about my questions on the index and whether the file system couldn’t just be my index. I came to the realization (especially after going through the workbook) that it’s at the heart of the system. I’m totally onboard with it now.

In building my index (which I call the ‘card catalog’), I chose two of the alternatives suggested - creating a separate file for each JD entry and a lightweight “database” by using Obsidian and the Dataview plugin. I’m not doing a lot of work to do so and think I’m getting the best of both options. Plus it’s not in the cloud.

I create a ‘card’ for each JD entry from an Obsidian template that has two properties ready to hold entries for a Summary sentence and Location(s) per the JD locations. It also has a card tag and a couple of Dataview tables to pull in information from other cards or any other Obsidian file (like my zettelkasten I’m creating) based on whether that file is ever given a Category property of the same one as the card (or a special tag if desired). From that template I simply give the JD filename, summary sentence, locations and then any text I want to write in the note itself. I really think that additional info is an easily overlooked benefit from the JD system.

The whole thing builds very easily. Anytime I add or modify a JD ‘card’, the dynamic nature of Obsidian and the links automatically incorporate the changes. I even have cards for the Categories and Areas so that everything rolls up. By using markdown formatting in the Summary, I can even get styled headers in that rollup.