The Index - Tools and Best Practices

Hi, since the index is so central to the whole idea of Johnny.Decimal, I am kind of wondering why there is not more discussion about or resources targeting this problem. (I have searched the forum but maybe I missed something.)

Since Johnny has abandoned his work on a dedicated app (understandably :slight_smile: ), I was wondering, can we start sharing best practices and tools for keeping the index?

My ideal Index would be something like this:

• Lightweight and super fast (with a good quick search and navigation through the hierarchy)
  • stored locally, so no internet connection needed (synced via iCloud, I guess)
  • unobtrusive to access (I donā€™t have to enter a bloated tool that takes long to load or enter login details to access)
  • possibly free or at least not tied to a pricy subscription

What do you guys use? What works for you and what doesnā€™t?

My background: I am a freelance designer and I have started implementing a PRO.AC.ID-style JD System a couple of months ago. On one hand I feel a lot of calm from the fact that I have a reliable filing system for everything, on the other hand I havenā€™t managed to keep a reliable index. Iā€™ve started with a google sheet but that soon became unwieldy and not fun to use (no foldable headers, takes quite long to load, requires internet connection).

1 Like

I think @johnnydecimal prefers AirTable (see Tracking your numbers | Johnnyā€¢Decimal). But I guess it depends on your needs and preferences.

Iā€™ve experimented with Numbers at first (see My derivate of J.D (and P.A.R.A.) - #3 by bogenschlag) but thatā€™s a bit fiddly on an iPhone. Then I moved to MindNote (in outliner mode, see Using an outliner for the index) and from there to OmniOuliner (for its column support). (I already had/used/owned all these.)