Just starting, cant choose between including projects or keeping it simple :D

Hi all

first of all thanks so much @johnnydecimal for all your hard work and sharing this.

i am not very technical and am trying to understand and decide how to start

i am an academic so don’t have a million projects but do have thousands of .md notes in many areas such as tech, home, work etc.

some of these overall categories have many sub levels and also in the academic world i often have to have multiple levels:

example0

so im quite confused :slight_smile: in the “Classic” AC-ID it seems like i would not be able to get the salary sub folders since it dosent go so deep? am i correct?

the projects option seems like an over kill but maybe that the only route to follow?

any tips would be great!

thx so much
Z

Hi! And thanks for the kind words. :blush:

I would try to stay simple and see how you go. For 10 years all of my life was in a simple AC.ID structure. In fact most of it still is, and a few major projects have their own PRO.AC.ID.

I’ve got something like:

10-19 Personal
   11 Process // this is a catch-all ‘stuff to do’
   12 People & orgs
   13 Financial
      // so your pay notes, tax returns etc. go here
   14 Knowledge & data
   15 Technical
   16 Travel
   17 Entertainment
   18 House & home
20-29 [was used, is now free]
30-39 ACME Inc. // not my real company name
   31 Process
   32 People & orgs
   33 Financial
   34 Contracts
   35 Technical
   36 Travel

So 30-39 encompasses my company and my job. (I’m an IT contractor, so I have my own registered business through which I bill my customers.)

And notice how I’ve kept the numbers the same where possible, but I needed 34 for Contracts.

And then 40-49 onwards are for other areas of my life, e.g. I’m also a marriage celebrant (just for fun) so that goes in one of them, etc.