JD Limitations and Choices

Having a guideline that presents limits (10/10/100) is freeing, and also causes you to rethink your existing system. For example:

I’ve rearranged my writing in multiple ways, yet they are never fully logical. Some things are in folders based on publishing destination (web sites), others are in folders based on broad subject categories (fiction vs non-fiction), or narrower categories (book, essay, memoir, blog post). It has been inconsistent for quite awhile, and has changed more than once.

Given the volume of material you would think I was a writer by profession and probably published. You would be wrong! LOL All just personal projects, with only blog posts having ever been published (and forum posts).

JD forced me to rethink things. I’m trying to move everything into topic-based folders (Environment, Genealogy, Travel, etc.) because the publishing format or destination could be either blog or ebook or traditional magazine, or NONE of those, or ALL THREE. So topic feels more logical. Book reviews might end up under Miscellaneous, not sure.

Side note: I ran across an interesting idea regarding the pile of material that will, frankly, never go anywhere. The concept is based on ‘idea debt’ - and how do you get out of debt? You file for bankruptcy! So - idea bankruptcy - great detailed article on it here: How I Got Out of Idea Debt - should clear out a lot of space for folder organization too…

1 Like

Been planning and tweaking my personal J.D setup on and off since last night (i aim to finish by tonight before i get too frustrated and give up). This system definitely presents a fun mental challenge in classifying different aspects of my life due to the limitations you described.

Some quick findings: (for me personally)

• Parallels at the same level of taxonomy (among areas; among categories) are not that important. Much more important is the specificity level when choosing areas and categories compared to your data.